A long state with few schools away from the metros
Leave the big metros and Florida's eFoil map empties out fast. In October 2026 most areas on this page had one named operator, now and then two, and a few rested on a single marketplace listing. That shapes the trip. Secure the lesson before the hotel, since in most of these towns nobody down the road can take your booking if the one school is full.
Miami has more than one school on Biscayne Bay and its own Miami eFoil guide. Tampa Bay, St Petersburg and Sarasota have a separate Tampa Bay guide as well, so neither metro is repeated here. This page starts in the Keys, goes up the Atlantic side to Jacksonville, crosses to the southwest Gulf coast, stops inland at Orlando and ends on the Panhandle.
The Florida Keys: Grassy Key, Marathon and the gaps at either end
Key West and Key Largo are the names people search, and in October 2026 neither had an eFoil school or rental with its own page. Nor did Islamorada. What Key West offered was foil lessons towed behind a boat, a different sport. The one eFoil school we can name sits in the middle of the chain, with Key Largo and the Upper Keys to the northeast and Key West at the far end.
Grassy Flats Resort & Beach Club is at 58182 Overseas Highway, Marathon (305-998-4590). Kiteboarding lessons and sailing share its menu with eFoil lessons and rentals. The resort describes itself as “on Grassy Key, just east of Marathon, right in the middle of the island chain”.
It calls its flat and channels “some of the best protected water in the Keys for foiling”, “shallow, warm, and calm enough to learn on”. Glass calm mornings are, in its words, “the magic window”, and calm, glassy days “are actually the best eFoil conditions there are”. That is the resort talking about its own water. Still, the claim fits the sport. An eFoil needs no wind to fly, so the flattest day is the best one.
On 24 October 2026 the lesson list prices were $350 for one person on one board, $400 for two people sharing a board, $650 for two people on two boards and $900 for three on three. Board, foil, safety gear and instruction are included, and the resort quotes “90 minutes on the water depending on battery life”. Rentals are for riders who have foiled before, and the price is on request.
Greetwell, a booking site, also sells the lesson. It lists it for ages 8 and up and for groups of up to three, with a full refund if you cancel at least 24 hours ahead. Those are the listing's terms; a direct booking runs on whatever the resort itself sets, so ask.
From Fort Lauderdale up to Jupiter
North of Miami the choice widens, largely because a Miami school travels. FloFoil, which also teaches in Miami, meets its students in Fort Lauderdale, Riviera Beach and Jupiter, and keeps an office at 4200 Community Drive in West Palm Beach. Its two hour list prices on 24 October 2026 were $389 for a private lesson on one board, $689 for two people on two boards and $989 for three people on three.
Two smaller names turn up on advcollective.com, a booking site. E-Foil Florida LLC is listed for Fort Lauderdale with a 30 minute demo or a two hour lesson on SiFly eFoils. eFoil South Florida is listed for Lighthouse Point in Broward County, with 90 minute lessons on Fliteboards over “sheltered coastal water near Lighthouse Point”. Neither listing prints a price we could quote.
Marketplaces also sell a Fort Lauderdale handlebar session on a Flitescooter, 1 hour 15 minutes long, again without a printable price. Nervous about standing up with nothing but a hand remote? A handlebar gives you something to hold.
Here the water matters more than the brand. The lessons at Lighthouse Point run on sheltered Intracoastal water. We would call that calmer going than the beach side, where the National Weather Service in Miami notes that rip currents are common because of the persistent onshore winds. Broward and Palm Beach also have their own manatee zone rules (Florida Administrative Code 68C-22.010 and 68C-22.009), so expect posted slow speed stretches on the waterways and follow the signs.
Jacksonville, the Ortega River and the St Johns
Search “efoil jacksonville” and you arrive, by one route or another, at a single school. Atly, a listings site, places JaxFoil at 3326 Lake Shore Boulevard. That address belongs to the Lakeshore Marine Center, a full service marina “on the Ortega River on the west side of Jacksonville”, though the marina's own pages do not mention JaxFoil.
According to the Atly listing, riders must be at least 12, sessions run one to two hours and the school uses radio helmets. Atly also recommends booking ahead. When we checked on 24 October 2026 the school's own site was set to private and its booking page was gone. So this is a lead, nothing firmer, and worth a phone call to the school before you drive out.
No eFoil school on the St Johns itself had a working page of its own; the one listed school was based on the Ortega River, a St Johns tributary. Duval County, with parts of Clay and St. Johns counties, has its own manatee rule (68C-22.027). Our reading is that the slow speed signs on the river bind a foil board as much as a bass boat.
Naples, Sanibel and Fort Myers: the board comes to you
Gnarly Harley Adventures in Naples is listed with a “Half Day Private E-Foil Experience”: four hours with instruction, delivered to your property or your boat, with safety gear and extra batteries, for ages 12 and up. That listing also offers a shorter 90 minute eFoil ride, plus paddleboarding at Little Hickory Island.
No other school in Naples or on Marco Island had a page of its own. Around Naples, then, the eFoil mostly turns up at the dock of a rental home or alongside a boat. With no fixed beach base to walk up to, the booking starts from wherever you are staying.
Farther north it thins out again. Sanibel's one school showed up on travel sites only, without a website of its own, and Fort Myers gave us no operator at all. Collier County (68C-22.023) and Lee County (68C-22.005) both have manatee zone rules. We take those to mean posted slow speed stretches in the canals and back bays, and a board that comes off the foil each time it passes a sign.
Inland at Orlando, on one city lake
No coastline, and still the eFoil searches come. Lessons on Fliteboard eFoils have been offered on Lake Ivanhoe, a freshwater city lake, in groups of no more than four and lasting about an hour and a half. The page we found did not name the operator or print a price, so a day in Orlando built around this lesson waits on someone answering the phone.
For a first ride, a lake has a lot going for it. The water is flat and fresh, and Orange County has no manatee zone rule in chapter 68C-22, though local restricted areas can apply on any lake. The lessons used Fliteboard boards, the make eFoil South Florida also teaches on at Lighthouse Point.
Destin, Fort Walton Beach and 30A on the Emerald Coast
The Emerald Coast has two operators with pages of their own, both riding Lift boards. XL Kites, a kiteboarding, wingboarding and hydrofoil shop, sells Lift eFoils, used eFoils and lessons, and answers on (850) 243-5483. Visit Destin-Fort Walton Beach, the area's tourism site, lists its one on one lessons for anyone 13 and over and says the instructor brings everything you need.
XL Kites' list prices on 24 October 2026 were $350 for one person, $600 for two, $800 for three and $1,000 for four. The lesson covers an introduction to the equipment and one on one assisted riding, and it can be spread over several days. Read two terms before you pay. Lessons “can be rescheduled but not refunded”, and riders must be at least 13 to meet the shop's insurance requirements.
Groups do ground school together, then go out one at a time “with an instructor riding along side you”. The shop reckons it takes 30 minutes to an hour for each person to start getting good at it, and asks groups to plan an hour for ground school and setup plus at least an hour per rider. By that count a group of four needs five hours or more.
The tourism site adds that riding happens “a lot in the bayous of Destin-Fort Walton Beach” and that eFoils can go up to 25 mph. It also notes that the controller shuts the board off if you lose your balance and fall in.

Farther east, Epic eFoils works from 250 Watercolor Boulevard West in Santa Rosa Beach, on 30A in Walton County, between Destin and Panama City Beach; the number is (850) 534-6050. Its own list prices are $225 for one board, $450 for two and $675 for three, and more than one rider may share a board.
360 Blue, which offers the service only in its Emerald Coast destinations, adds detail on its page for Epic. It gives the $225 as per board per hour, suggests no more than two riders per board and states a 70 lb weight minimum with no age limit. Lessons run at the Watercolor Boathouse, and experienced riders can ask about a full day beach rental.
A beginner here would do best, we think, on the bayous and bays behind Destin and Fort Walton Beach, leaving the open Gulf beach to riders who already fly.
Lagoon, open beach or lake: picking Florida water for a first ride
Sheltered water wins a first lesson. On this page that means, to our eye, the Grassy Key flat, the Intracoastal at Lighthouse Point, the Destin bayous and the Ortega River. Open beach water brings onshore wind and chop, and in South Florida rip currents. Orlando's lakes are flat freshwater.
Across much of the state, manatees draw the speed map. Florida's manatee zone rules cover Broward, Palm Beach, Collier, Lee and Duval counties among others, but not Monroe, Okaloosa, Walton or Orange. A slow speed zone, under rule 68C-22.002, means a vessel “fully off plane and completely settled into the water”. No Florida text names eFoils; as we read it, an eFoil in such a zone comes down off the foil and putts along until the zone ends.

The National Hurricane Center gives the Atlantic hurricane season as 1 June to 30 November, and the Miami weather office says tropical systems affect South Florida particularly in August, September and October. For South Florida it also puts the rainy season between a median start on 20 May and a median end on 17 October, bringing about 70 % of the year's rain. Lightning, damaging thunderstorm winds, flooding and hail are the hazards it lists.
In summer, book the morning. Thunderstorms belong to the afternoon, and the glass calm hours Grassy Flats likes fall early in the day.
For water temperature we hold a single station, and it is not on any water this page covers. NOAA's Virginia Key gauge on Biscayne Bay averages about 71.6 °F in January and 87.3 °F in August (about 22 to 31 °C). Read it as a rough guide for South Florida; for the other waters we have no station figure.
How Florida law treats your own eFoil, in our reading
On a lesson the school deals with the paperwork. Bring your own board and it falls to you.
Washington sets the first layer. In US Coast Guard Policy Letter 01-22, dated 26 August 2022 and issued by CG-BSX, eFoils and jetboards count as vessels subject to all the rules for machinery propelled recreational vessels, with a note that they can exceed 35 mph. Paragraph 4.a asks for a validated hull identification number before the state of principal operation issues a certificate of number, and the number goes on the forward half of the deck in block characters at least 3 inches high (33 CFR 173.27). Paragraph 4.e lists what applies underway: the certificate of number on board, a PFD as state and federal rules require, a whistle or other sound device, the Inland Navigation Rules with lights between sunset and sunrise, and an engine cut off switch if one is fitted. The letter says it is not itself a rule.
Florida arrives there through its own definitions. Section 327.02 of the Florida Statutes (2026) makes any watercraft usable for transport on water a vessel, and one with machinery for propulsion a motorboat, a word that by our reading takes in an eFoil. A personal watercraft under that section uses an inboard motor driving a water jet pump, so we would place a propeller eFoil outside the personal watercraft rules of s. 327.39. A jet board could differ.
Section 328.48(2) requires every vessel used on Florida waters to be registered, with an exception for non motor vessels under 16 feet. As we read it, an eFoil goes on the register and a wing foil board does not. You apply to the county tax collector with a driver license or ID card from any state or a valid passport (s. 328.48(1)(a)), and the decal goes on the port side within 6 inches of the number. We read an eFoil as Class A-1 under s. 328.72, under 12 feet, at $5.50 per 12 months plus service fees.
The boating card is the open question. Under s. 327.395(1), anyone born on or after 1 January 1988 needs photo ID and a boating safety identification card, or a 90 day temporary certificate, to run a vessel with a motor of 10 hp or more. The card is valid for life. The statute does not mention eFoils, so ask the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) about your model. Children under 6 on any vessel under 26 feet wear a USCG approved life jacket while underway (s. 327.50(1)).
Distance from shore is set locally. Under s. 327.46(1)(b), counties and towns may adopt idle speed, no wake zones within 500 feet of a boat ramp, slow speed within 300 feet of a bridge fender system and vessel exclusion zones at designated public bathing beaches and swim areas, but not on the Intracoastal Waterway or within 100 feet of its channel. We see no single statewide shore distance for an eFoil in that, so the ordinance where you launch is the one to look up.
This is our reading of the texts as published in October 2026, not legal advice. FWC and the county tax collector have the final word.
Nine offers outside Miami in one table
Swipe sideways to see all columns
| Operator | Area | Boards | Offer | Minimum age | First lesson |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grassy Flats | Grassy Key, Marathon | Not stated | Lessons of about 90 minutes; rentals for riders who have foiled before | 8 (Greetwell listing) | $350 |
| FloFoil | Fort Lauderdale, Riviera Beach, Jupiter | Not stated | Two hour private, double and group lessons | Not published | $389 |
| E-Foil Florida LLC | Fort Lauderdale | SiFly | 30 minute demo or two hour lesson (listing) | Not published | Not published |
| eFoil South Florida | Lighthouse Point | Fliteboard | 90 minute lessons (listing) | Not published | Not published |
| JaxFoil | Ortega River, Jacksonville | Not stated | One to two hour sessions (listing; check before you go) | 12 | Not published |
| Gnarly Harley Adventures | Naples, delivered | Not stated | Half day private experience, 90 minute ride (listing) | 12 | Not published |
| Operator not named | Lake Ivanhoe, Orlando | Fliteboard | About 1.5 hours, groups up to four | Not published | Not published |
| XL Kites | Destin and Fort Walton Beach | Lift | One on one lessons, rentals | 13 | $350 |
| Epic eFoils | 30A, Santa Rosa Beach | Lift | Per board sessions, shareable; full day rental for experienced riders | All ages, 70 lb minimum | $225 per board |
Published first lessons cluster between $350 and $390 for one rider on one board, with Epic's shareable board as the cheaper outlier. For what that buys against owning a board, our eFoil price guide runs the numbers, and the eFoil basics page covers how the board flies.



